WWF’s Jessica Sotelo traveled to the Galapagos with Natural Habitat Adventures recently and was able to document in photos a sliver of the islands’ diversity (there are 18 total islands that are a part of the archipelago).

Genovesa Island

Genovesa Island, also called Tower, is a collapsed shield volcano whose flooded caldera attracts vast numbers of pelagic seabirds that come here to breed and nest.  More than 1 million land and sea birds congregate on this island.

[raw][metaslider id=27183][/raw]

Santa Cruz Island

Santa Cruz is the most populous of the islands and one of the most popular tourist destinations in the Galapagos, featuring some of the most varied and dramatic landscapes in the area. It is also a focal point for scientific research, housing the Charles Darwin Research Station, where a variety of Galapagos land animals are studied.

[raw][metaslider id=27196][/raw]

Isabela Island

Isabela is the largest of the Galapagos islands, created where six volcanoes once flowed together. Because of its size and the distance between its attractions, it is one of the least visited islands. Those who have the time to take in its many treasures are greatly rewarded by the island’s many natural wonders.

[raw][metaslider id=27175][/raw]

By Jessica Sotelo, WWF

Travel to the Galapagos with WWF & Nat Hab